CEE Prevent Net

Central and Eastern European Network for the Prevention of Intolerance and Group Hatred

 

In light of increasing levels of intolerance, discrimination and group hatred in Europe, the CEE Prevent Net project aims at safeguarding young people by strengthening their resilience toward these phenomena and their skills to contribute to a peaceful and democratic society. Building on the previous project European Fair Skills, CEE Prevent Net focuses on Central and Eastern Europe and Eastern Germany, since this region shares common socio-historic experiences, structural conditions and current challenges.


The project’s main objectives comprise fostering the capacity of practitioners from social/youth work and non-formal education to deal with intolerance, group hatred and violence among young people; creating a platform for multi-agency cooperation in the project countries and across the CEE region; mustering support from stakeholders and policy-makers beyond political partisanship and societal cleavages; and raising awareness for CEE issues and approaches in European and international prevention networks, where this region is still under-represented.


The project’s activities include a transfer of good practices in an international summer school, peer coaching and youth workshops in each of the project countries as well as the publication of “Compendium of Good Practices”; “Prevent Seminars” that provide practitioners and other stakeholders in prevention work with tested strategies for how to professionally address intolerance, discrimination and group hatred in the local context; two meetings of a multi-agency roundtable in each country to facilitate dialogue between practitioners, stakeholders and policy-makers in each project region; and advocacy activities to productively involve partners from across the political sphere in the project activities and the development of prevention work on the local and national level.

Project duration

October 2018 – September 2020

Partners

The Anti-discrimination Education Society, PL

Ratolest Brno, CZ

REACH Institute, SK

Partners for Democratic Change Slovakia, SK

Centre for Community Organizing, SK

Partners for Democratic Change Hungary, HU

Budapest Centre for Mass Atrocities Prevention, HU

YMCA Dobrich, BG

Centre for the Study of Democracy, BG

Funding

This project is funded by the European Union’s Rights, Equality and Citizenship Programme (2014-2020) and the Visegrad Fund.

CEE Prevent Net

Central and Eastern European Network for the Prevention of Intolerance and Group Hatred

In Anbetracht zunehmender Intoleranz, Diskriminierung und Menschenfeindlichkeit in Europa hat das Projekt CEE Prevent Net einen Beitrag zur Sicherung des Wohlergehens junger Menschen geleistet, indem es ihre Resilienz gegenüber diesen Bedrohungen stärkt und Kompetenzen für ein friedliches und demokratisches Zusammenleben förderte. Basierend auf dem vorangegangenen Projekt European Fair Skills nahm CEE Prevent Net vor allem Mittel- und Osteuropa und Ostdeutschland in den Blick, da diese Region viele gemeinsame sozio-historische Erfahrungen, strukturelle Bedingungen und aktuelle Herausforderungen teilt.

Praktiker*innen der Jugend- und Sozialarbeit im Umgang mit Menschenfeindlichkeit stärken

Konkret zielte das Projekt darauf ab, die Handlungskompetenzen von Praktiker*innen der Jugend- und Sozialarbeit sowie der non-formalen (politischen) Bildung im Umgang mit Menschenfeindlichkeit, Diskriminierung und daraus resultierende Gewalt zu stärken, Netzwerke zur interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit in diesem Bereich in den einzelnen Projektländern sowie über die gesamte Projektregion hinweg aufzubauen bzw. zu stärken. Außerdem wollte CEE Prevent Net Unterstützung von Entscheidungsträger*innen über parteipolitische Zugehörigkeiten und gesellschaftliche Konfliktlinien hinweg gewinnen und mehr Aufmerksamkeit für zentrale Themen, Herausforderungen aber auch Lösungsansätze in europäischen und internationalen Präventionsnetzwerken generieren, da diese Perspektiven dort nach wie vor zu wenig Beachtung finden.

Die wichtigsten Maßnahmen des Projekts umfassten den Transfer von Praxisansätzen der Präventionsarbeit im Rahmen einer internationalen Summer School, Peer-Trainings und Workshops mit Jugendlichen sowie die Publikation eines „Compendium of Good Practices“; „Prevent Seminars“ (basierend auf derHako_reJu-Qualifizierung von cultures interactive e.V.), die Praktiker*innen und anderen relevanten Beteiligten erprobte Strategien zum professionellen Umgang mit Menschenfeindlichkeit, Diskriminierung und Gewalt in ihrem lokalen (Arbeits-)Umfeld vermitteln; zwei Treffen eines runden Tisches in jedem Partnerland als Plattform für interdisziplinären Austausch zwischen Praktiker*innen und anderen Akteur*innen und Entscheidungsträger*innen im Feld der Präventionsarbeit. Dazu kamen gezielte Advocacy-Initiativen, um Entscheidungsträger*innen mit verschiedenen politischen Sichtweisen als Fürsprecher der Projektaktivitäten sowie für die produktive Weiterentwicklung der Präventionsarbeit auf lokaler und/oder nationaler Ebene zu gewinnen.

Laufzeit

Oktober 2018 – September 2020

Partner*innen

Förderung

European Union’s Rights, Equality and Citizenship Programme (2014-2020)

Visegrad Fund